Industry News: Cheryl Boone Isaacs Re-elected, ‘Clowntown’ Aquired

By a Front Row Features Staff Reporter

Cheryl Boone Isaacs was re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday by the organization’s Board of Governors, it was announced today.

Boone Isaacs is beginning her fourth term as president and her 24th year as a governor representing the Public Relations Branch.  Also re-elected to their posts: Jeffrey Kurland, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee), John Bailey, Vice President (chair, Preservation and History Committee), Kathleen Kennedy, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee) and Jim Gianopulos, Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee. Elected to the board for the first time are Nancy Utley, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee) and David Rubin, Secretary (chair, Membership and Administration Committee).

Boone Isaacs heads CBI Enterprises, where she consults on film marketing efforts.  She is currently an adjunct professor at Chapman University’s Dodge College of Film and Media Arts and serves as a trustee of the American Film Institute.

In May she received an honorary Doctor of Arts degree from the Dodge College of Film and Media Arts.  She also received the 2016 Rosa Parks Humanitarian Award from the Southern Christian Leadership Conference of Southern California.  Over her career, Boone Isaacs has consulted on such films as “The Call,” “The Artist,” “The King’s Speech,” “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” “Spider-Man 2” and “Tupac: Resurrection.”  Boone Isaacs previously served as president of theatrical marketing for New Line Cinema, where she oversaw numerous box office successes, including “Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me” and “Rush Hour.”  Prior to joining New Line, she was executive vice president of worldwide publicity for Paramount Pictures, where she orchestrated publicity campaigns for the Best Picture winners “Forrest Gump” and “Braveheart.”

ITN Distribution has acquired North American rights to the horror thriller “Clowntown.” Written by Jeff Miller (“Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyan”) and directed by Tom Nagel (“The Retrieval”), the film stars Brian Nagel (Katy Perry’s “Roar”), Lauren Elise (Justin Lin’s “Help”), Andrew Staton (“Relentless”), Katie Keene (“Union Furnace”), Jeff Denton (“The Beast of Bray Road”) and Greg Violand (“Batman v. Superman”). “Clowntown” is set to debut in theaters Sept. 30, and arrive on VOD and DVD Oct. 4.  ITN Distribution’s President Stuart Alson made the announcement yesterday